Poetry

Midnight Hope

A few seconds left

I wait eagerly and patiently by my bedroom window

I stare that the dark twinkly sky

More beautiful than even before

***

5!

I smile

***

4!

Wider and wider

***

3!

I shout the countdown in unison with everyone else

***

2!

I Look up

***

1!

***

the thunderous sounds begin

The cheers

***

The fireworks

Green, Yellow and Blue

Exploding in the sky

***

Smiles all around

As new flames of hope for the new year ignite

Just for a second

But a wondrous second at that

4 thoughts on “Midnight Hope

Leave a Reply

